The Foundation for International Development Study and Research (Ferdi), was created in 2003 on the initiative of the Cerdi (University of Auvergne and CNRS) is established as a public interest organisation.

Honorary presidence
Valéry Giscard d'Estaing
Management Board

Chairman : Patrick Guillaumont, Emeritus Professor at University of Auvergne

Ex officio members :
Ministry of Internal Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Auvergne Regional Council, Puy-de-Dôme local Council, City Council of Clermont-Ferrand, University of Auvergne

Members appointed by the Founders :
Co-opted members :
Serge Degallaix, former French Ambassador to Tunisia, to Vietnam and to Bangladesh
Olivier Lafourcade, Chairman of the board of I&P Développement
Board :
  • Patrick Guillaumont, Chairman
  • Eric Le Corre, Vice-Chairman
  • Frédéric Bontems, Secretary
  • Alain Henry, Assistant Secretary
  • Serge Degallaix, Treasurer


Strategic Orientation Board


Chairman :
Stéphane Richard, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Orange


Members :

Rigobert Andely
Former Vice-Governor of the Bank of Central African States, former Minister of Finance of the Republic of the Congo
Monique Barbut
Executive Secretary of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification, former Chair of the Global Environment Facility
Abdoulaye Bio Tchané
Former Minister of Finance of Benin, former Chairman of the WABD, former Africa Director of the IMF
Michel Camdessus
Honorary Governor of the Bank of France, former Director General of the IMF
Laurent Caredda
Founder and Chairman of Almerys
Steve Gentili
Chairman of the Forum Francophone des Affaires
Emmanuel Faber
Chairman of Danone
Ambroise Fayolle
Vice-President of the European Investment Bank
Jean-Yves Foucault
Chairman of Limagrain
Anne Le Lorier
Senior Deputy Governor of the Bank of France
Philippe Le Houérou
IFC Executive Vice President and CEO
Jean Lemierre
Chairman of the Board, BNP Paribas
Sylvie Lemmet
Director of European and International Affairs, French Minister of Ecology, Sustainable Development, Transport and Housing
Claude Malhuret
Mayor of Vichy, former Chairman of Médecins Sans Frontières
Benoît Miribel
Honorary President of Action contre la Faim, Director General of the Mérieux Foundation
Pierre Morel
Former French Ambassador, Director of the Pharos Observatory
Aminata Niane
Director of the African Bank of Development, former Managing Director of APIX
Frédéric Oudéa
Chief Executive Officer of Société Générale
Arielle de Rothschild
Chair of Care France
Valentine Sendanyoye Rugwabiza 
Permanent Representative of Rwanda to the United Nations
Jean-Michel Severino
Chairman of I&P, former Director of the French Development Agency and Vice President for South-East Asia at the World Bank
Michel Sidibé
Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations, UNAIDS Executive Director
Tidjane Thiam
Chief Executive Officer of Credit Suisse
Alexandre Vilgrain
Chairman of SOMDIAA
Lionel Zinsou-Derlin
Former Prime Minister of Benin, former Chairman of the investment fund PAI Partners
Tertius Zongo
Former Prime Minister of Burkina Faso

For Ferdi :

Christophe Angely

Ferdi Head of Strategy, former Co-head of European Investment Banking of Barclays

Patrick Guillaumont
Chairman of the Ferdi Management Board, Emeritus Professor, University of Auvergne
Alain de Janvry
Professor, University of California, Berkeley
Jaime de Melo
Ferdi Scientific Director, Emeritus Professor, University of Geneva