Commodity market instability and asymmetries in developing countries: Development impacts and policies

, Ouvrages

Recueil des notes brèves issues de la conférence Asymétries et instabilité du marché des matières premières dans les pays en développement organisée le 24 juin 2015 à Clermont-Ferrand.

Introduction

Economic market instability has been at the center of development policy debate in the recent past, starting with the food commodity prices spikes on 2007-8, then continuing with the 2009-10 financial crisis, the ongoing energy market volatility, and the continuing commodity market instability of the last few years. Risk, defined as exposure to uncertain future events, is part of everyday life, and people and countries have learned to deal with it over centuries. However, there is a growing realization that uncertainty and risk maybe crucial to a country’s growth and development as well as its welfare. Sudden and unanticipated shocks, whether caused by natural events, or economic developments affect developing countries, as well as poor people in unequal ways. Commodity market risks in particular are well known to affect development and welfare in a variety of ways and it is important to understand these so as to prioritize policy actions, and to design strategies to avoid the undesirable parts of the consequences. In particular commodity market shocks may have both asymmetric patterns and asymmetric impacts, namely differing in booms and busts, or create irreversibilities that may hamper subsequent development. While considerable research has taken place in the past to understand the influences of commodity market shocks, asymmetries and irreversibilities have not been studied much. It was to this general topic that the conference was addressed.

The general purpose of the conference was on the one hand to examine the state of the art in the area of asymmetries and irreversibilities relating to commodity market instability and development, with the purpose to first pinpoint gaps in current research, and secondly to highlight promising areas of policy intervention to aid developing countries to manage/cope with market instability. While commodity market instability can originate in many ways, the workshop was restricted to market instability arising from natural or other unpredicted events, as well as unforeseen market developments. 

The conference was organized around the following themes. Trends and asymmetries in market instability; instability asymmetries and market distortions; market instability and impacts in developing countries; policies addressing commodity market instability. The policy briefs in this compendium are presented according to their contribution to these themes.   .../...

The authors

Marc F. Bellemare University of Minnesota, mbellema@umn.edu,

Stéphanie Brunelin, World Bank, stephanie.brunelin@gmail.com

Joël Cariolle, Foundation for researches and studies on international development (Ferdi), Clermont-Ferrand, France, joel.cariolle@ferdi.fr

Christopher L. Gilbert, SAIS Bologna Center, Johns Hopkins University, christopher.gilbert@jhu.edu

Atanu Ghoshray, Newcastle University, Atanu.Ghoshray@newcastle.ac.uk

Christophe Gouel, INRA, christophe.gouel@grignon.inra.fr

Friederike Greb, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Friederike.Greb@fao.org

Maros Ivanic, The World Bank, ivanic@gmail.com

David R. Just, Cornell University, drj3@cornell.edu

Matthias Kalkuhl, University of Bonn, kalkuhl@mcc-berlin.net

Lukas Kornher, University of Kiel, lkornher@food-econ.uni-kiel.de

Tristan Le Cotty, CIRAD, lecotty@cirad.fr

Yu Na Lee, University of Minnesota, leex5244@umn.edu,

Elodie Maître d’Hôtel, CIRADelodie.maitredhotel@cirad.fr

Will Martin, The World Bank, Wmartin1@worldbank.org

Irfan Mujahid, University of Bonn, imujahid@uni-bonn.de;  

Adamon N. Mukasa, African Development Bank, adamonmuk@yahoo.fr

Hannah Pieters, LICOS Centre for Institutions and Economic Performance KULeuven, Hannah.Pieters@kuleuven.be

George Rapsomanikis, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, george.rapsomanikis@fao.org

Alexandros Sarris, Professor, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece, and senior fellow at Ferdi, email. aleko@alum.mit.edu

Johan Swinnen, LICOS Centre for Institutions and Economic Performance KULeuven, and Centre for Food Security and the Environment Stanford University, Jo.Swinnen@kuleuven.be

Maximo Torero, International Food Policy Research Institute, m.torero@cgiar.org

Zacharias Ziegelhöfer, Infrastructure Financing at Secrétariat d'État à l'économie SECO, Bern

Télécharger l'ouvrage

Sarris, A. (ed). 2016. "Commodity market instability and asymmetries in developing countries: Development impacts and policies", Ferdi, 92 p.